First Presbyterian is led by a dedicated group of men and women elected to serve a three year term as an elder in the ministry areas of Worship, Christian Education, Mission, Fellowship, Congregational Care, Support Services, Communications, Finance, and Personnel. The PC(USA) says the following about elders:

“As there were in Old Testament times elders for the government of the people, so the New Testament church provided persons with particular gifts to share in discernment of God’s Spirit and governance of God’s people. Accordingly, congregations should elect persons of wisdom and maturity of faith, having demonstrated skills in leadership and being compassionate in spirit. Ruling elders are so named not because they “lord it over” the congregation (Matt. 20:25), but because they are chosen by the congregation to discern and measure its fidelity to the Word of God, and to strengthen and nurture its faith and life. Ruling elders, together with teaching elders, exercise leadership, government, spiritual discernment, and discipline and have responsibilities for the life of a congregation as well as the whole church, including ecumenical relationships.”

- Book of Order G-2.0301

The Session (the full body of elders) meets monthly, on the fourth Monday at 7:00pm in the Heritage Room.

Current Session

Class of 2020

Harriet Gilbert, David Parker, Carole Pickett, Susan Sharp, Jim Tarman, Scott Zanotti

class of 2021

Natasha Austin, Nate McElwee, Ryan Oliphant, Rhyne Scott, Beth Setzer,

Wendell Worthington

Class of 2022

Lamar Austin, Robert Dearman, Janet Frazier, Anne Herschler, Brian Long, Trish Wilson

Session Organization, 2019-20

Christian Education: Anne Herschler*, Trish Wilson*   
Communication: Carole Pickett*    
Congregational Care: Harriet Gilbert, Nate McElwee*        
Fellowship: Beth Setzer*   
Finance: Wendell Worthington*, Natasha Austin
Lamar Austin*, Rhyne Scott 
Susan Sharp*, Janet Frazier*
Support Services: Scott Zanotti*, Ryan Oliphant, Brian Long   
Worship: Jim Tarman*, Robert Dearman

*Ministry Chairperson